The third pillar

Scroll Page


Giving Your Zakat

Zakat, meaning to purify, is the third pillar of Islam. It denotes the amount of wealth a Muslim is obligated to pay to particular categories of underprivileged people, if their annual wealth exceeds a specific amount.

Every sane, adult Muslim whose wealth exceeds the value of nisab, must pay Zakat. Muslims very little or no income, who are new to Islam, in debt, stranded whilst travelling, working in the cause of Allah (swt) or in bondage, in addition to those who administer Zakat, are all entitled to receive Zakat.

At Muslim Hands we take the responsibility of handling Zakat extremely seriously. We understand that paying Zakat is not simply an act of charity - it's an act of worship. With our dedicated Zakat service, your donation will reach those most in need, both quickly and securely.

Our range of online resources will help you calculate and decide how how best to spend your Zakat through one of our many Zakat eligible programmes. Our projects include providing communities with clean water, enabling orphans to go to school and feeding families in need. Take a look and make your Zakat count.

The nisab is the minimum value of wealth one must possess in order to pay Zakat. It is defined as the value of 87.5g of pure gold or 625g silver. Most scholars favour the lower value as it means that more people can pay Zakat and therefore there are more beneficiaries.

Gold Nisab


Silver Nisab


Our Zakat Service

We've been distributing Zakat for over 20 years

We've distributed over £50 million in Zakat

We distribute Zakat in over 30 countries

Q. Who must pay Zakat?

A. Every person who is sane, an adult (reached
puberty), Muslim and sahib-un-nisab must pay
Zakat as a duty.

To be a sahib-un-nisab means
you possess more wealth than the level of nisab for a period of one lunar year or more.

Q. What type of wealth is Zakat due on?

A. Gold and silver, including ornaments or
jewellery containing gold and/or silver

Cash held at home or in bank accounts

Stocks and shares owned directly or through
investment funds

Money lent to others

Business stock in trade and merchandise

Agricultural produce

Livestock animals such as cows, buffaloes,
goats, sheep and camels

Produce of mines


Property owned for investment purposes

Q. When should I pay my Zakat?

A. You can pay your Zakat at any time, but many people chose to do so during the month Of Ramadan when the reward for our good deeds is multiplied and it is easier to calculate the lunar year.

Q. Can I pay my Zakat in installments?

A. Yes you can. Simply calculate your Zakat payments, divide this by 12 and set up a regular gift, specifying Zakat as the type of donation.

Q. Who can receive Zakat?

A. There are eight categories as outlined in the Qur'ran:

The poor, those in debt, the wayfarer, those in the cause of Allah, the needy, those whose hearts are to be reconciled, to free those in captivity and those who collect and distribute the Zakat.

Zakat Projects


Some of the projects your Zakat can support

Browse All

Tube Well


Muslim Hands UK

Now in our 25th year of relieving poverty and suffering worldwide and those affected by natural disasters, conflict and poverty.